Stop trying to say what my job is or isn´t

I sometimes get so extremly frustrated with people. Everytime a person asks me what I do and I answer them, and they STILL believe I cuddle kittens and puppies all day, I just want to strangle someone. I also get told a million times that my job as a veterinary technician is not half as important as the veterinarians´ or even worse, that a human nurse is so much more knowledgeable than I am. This makes me furious! Because I´m trained in anesthesia, as well as I´m a trained  X-ray technician, as well as a dietist, nurse, receptionist, ICU technician, emergency technician, a midwife AND on top of that I have to know so many different species! So please don´t tell me that my work is to cuddle puppies and kittens, and please don´t tell me that a human nurse knows more than I do!
 
 
And whenever the subject comes up that my passion lies among the wildlife, I have heard a million times that I only want that job because it´s a "fancy job" or a "cool job". Well I can take you there and you´ll see just how fancy it is...getting up early in the morning to scoop poop, or to carry stinking meat pieces or a whole cow head if you´re lucky to feed the carnivores. To be covered in blood from different species is also very glamorous!
 
Then when I maybe post a picture with an orphaned animal that I´m trying to keep alive the comments are "you have the best job in the world, it must be so nice to only feed babies all day". Are you kidding me? Yes it´s the most rewarding job I have ever done, but if you for one second think it´s easy to get a new baby orphan to take the bottle, or to drink at all, you´ve got it all wrong my friend. I have never been as worried as I am when raising orphans, because you put all your energy and love into these little creatures and you are soo worried they will get sick, die or get hurt.
And when it comes to me wanting to work with rhinos, in different ways, helping to raise orphans, monitoring adults, working with anti-poaching and caring for adults injured by poachers, I get comments like "That is a high status job, that´s why you want it". No I want it because I´m trying to correct all the wrongs made by mankind against these poor innocent creatures! I´m not doing it for "the status" of the job I´m doing it because my love for animals goes beyond everything I understand.
I also get nasty comments about how one woman shouldn´t think that she can change the world, but you know what? i do believe I can change the world, I do believe that I can make a difference, maybe not for the whole world but for some animals, for some species. If I didn´t believe that with all my heart I wouldn´t be doing all that I do to get where I feel like I need to be.
 
I sold my furniture, donated much of my clothes, sold my books, my stuff, my car and moved into a house that I share with 8 people. Does that sound luxurious to you? It isn´t but it´s the life I chose to be able to help the animals in this world, to be able to do what puts my blood on fire.
 
Will it make me rich? Haha definitly not, the opposite probably. If we mean rich as in having alot of money. but if we´re talking about rich as experience, love and happiness then yes, I will be the richest person on earth. 
Will it make people like me? Some will some won´t, what´s important to me is that I´m following my hearts´desire and I´m speaking for those without a voice!
 
So next time you say that I´m ridiculus for selling calanders to fund my trip to help animals, or the next time you say that my proffession is not as important as yours or when you feel like saying that my dreams are impossible, just don´t. Because I will show you, I will prove to every single one of you negative people what it´s like to fight when you truly want something, when you truly believe you´ve found what you were put on this earth to do. So before you say stupid shit, just sit back and watch, I WILL make it happen!
 
Love / F
 
 

Kommentera inlägget här :