She was a solo wanderess until she wasn´t solo anymore

I have been raised by an incredibly strong woman, she taught me that I could do anything, and that I didn’t need a man to do so. Growing up it was just me and my mom, and she rocked it! I know she struggled, hustled and swore probably many times but she managed and today I am an adult, taking care of myself, having a bachelor’s degree in a subject I love and started traveling solo. So for me there was nothing strange in going places alone, I didn’t have time to wait for friends to figure out if they wanted to come with me, I had a life to live.

I had it all planned, at least the rough edges of it, where I would stay, which scholarships to apply for, when I would need to fly where and when I knew I would need an actual job for a few months to make ends meet. But you know how it goes with plans…usually to hell (not necessarily a bad thing haha!). Mine was no exception…because there I was happily following my plan, spending time in South Africa March-May writing my bachelor thesis when I got invited to a birthday party at one of my South African friend’s house. That´s where I met him, the guy that would take my plans and toss them around until I didn’t know what was up and what was down anymore. Before I knew it we were dating, and I found myself in yet another situation that I had sworn I would never be in, oh yes – the long distance relationship. We all know it, hate it and fear it…but we managed 3 (long) months apart while I worked my butt off in Sweden at my first job as a licensed veterinary nurse. And voilá here came the next move I did not plan for – I didn’t only go back to South Africa for the guy, I moved in with him, that’s right… Now you are probably thinking about all the but, how and when´s and believe me so did I but then I realised I should really stop thinking so god damn much ( I spent 3 years in university overheating my brain.. no need for that now) so I did, and I have never been happier.

I guess what I´m trying to say here is that love is rare, so when you get a chance to have it… hold on people, like you would hold on to your underwear on a beach full of people. You can change plans (hell if you don’t change them they usually change themselves no matter if you like it or not), you can make new plans, and best of all, you have someone to make plans with.

I was a solo wanderess and now I´m not – and I love it!

 
 
 
 
 
I´m always up to something, here with the sweet leopard Kekane!
 
 
Somewhere along my travels I bumped into the man that put all my plans on edge
 
 
 
 
The two men that changed my so very well planned life.. 
 
 
I know alot of travelers are afraid of precisely this, to meet someone in a different country. believe me when I say it isn´t easy, but it´s worth it!
 
 
Meeting someone doesn´t mean that all my independence goes away, oh no I am still the same wierd, crazy, outgoing, wild problemsolving woman I was before. it just means I have someone to share it all with, the good and the bad!

 

Kommentera inlägget här :